11 Comments

I like the front camera location, but I have the 12.9 iPad Pro M1 and don't see a reason to upgrade.

Expand full comment
author

I agree, an upgrade from M1 to M2 is probably not worth it

Expand full comment

My air 4 got delivered mere hours before the apple event for the air 5,and now seeing the same setup in 10th gen- I regret the buy

Expand full comment
author

Dang, that sucks. I remember I had the same regret when I got the 2020 iPad Pro right before the M1 MacBooks released, which was a few months before the M1 iPads got released

Expand full comment
Oct 22, 2022Liked by Adi

AIR vs IPAD = $150 difference

AIR = 8gig ram / IPAD = ? likely 3-5 gig

AIR = media engine / IPAD = none

Q what do you want to do?

everyday email / surfing / some art & music / writing / school work = IPAD is pretty nice, cool colors / nice accessory keyboards / pencil 1 (not great but ok)

price is a bit much, the IPAD is no longer the bargain @ $329 like it was

AIR = poor-man's pro / tablet can be pushed, decent ram / good for media (lightroom - davinci - presonus - procreate/fresco). decent at multitasking. The ipad AIR is good for power users that may not need all pro features

I have an IPAD 9th gen and it works great, but I also have a laptop, a desktop and smartphone (lol) and log into other computers at work and school. so I'm good w a decent reasonably priced unit.

Expand full comment
Oct 20, 2022Liked by Adi

Not a big change from other iPads, I feel like if you have a 2018 iPad or newer, you wouldn't have a reason to upgrade. I like the landscape camera but the fatty bezels are awful

Expand full comment
author

I agree with the landscape camera orientation, but I wonder why Apple kept the Apple Pencil 1. Maybe there’s some sort of issue with having the Apple Pencil charger next to the camera?

Expand full comment

My 2 top adjectives for yesterday's announcements, right from the headlines:

- "Strange" https://www.macstories.net/news/apple-announces-strange-new-ipad-and-ipad-pro-lineup/

- "Weird" https://9to5mac.com/2022/10/18/weird-ipad-features/

I almost think they should have held back the new iPad Pros. The improvements to the base model - colors, camera in the right place, new Magic Keyboard Folio with kickstand and function keys, Touch ID in the lock button, etc. make the spec bump on the Pros look half-hearted.

And don't get me started on the Apple Pencil adapter

https://twitter.com/_alexguyot/status/1582405085484953601

Expand full comment
author

Yeah the update to the iPad Pros is a little weird. I thought there would be way more new stuff (and my expectations weren’t incredibly high).

The Apple Pencil adapter is definitely interesting (my friend was complaining to me about it yesterday 😂).

Expand full comment

Ipad Pro 1st generation. Seriously considering the new Ipad. Your views?

Expand full comment
author
Oct 19, 2022·edited Oct 19, 2022Author

If it’s the 2015/2016 iPad Pro, the new base-level iPad is almost definitely worth it for you, especially given how much it has changed from previous generations

Expand full comment