12 Comments
Mar 24Liked by Adi

I did this years ago with the iPad Pro 10.5“. It replaced my Mac for about 70% of the tasks and with every new iPad and iPadOS version I could get this up to a 100% for about almost 3 years. It all depends on the work you are doing, but for the majority it is possible and I really hope the next iPadOS will push the limits even further.

Expand full comment
Mar 24Liked by Adi

Mine pretty much has. Its just easier to grab my iPad pro 11".

Of course my MacBook air is ancient and on its last legs and I'm to cheap to replace it!

Looking at a windows based laptop I can do some gaming on as well.

Expand full comment
Mar 28Liked by Adi

Hi, all ! Recently, I've been testing how much work I can do on my 2020 iPad M1, compared to my Mac. Honestly, about 20% of my tasks, mainly due to the struggle with text input and Paste app functionality (I use Paste app for iPad with Stage Manager).

Yet, the iPad's mobility shines, especially with its LTE connectivity and the ability to use it in tight spaces like cars, enhanced by accessories like keyboards and the Apple Pencil.

How do you incorporate iPads into your work, especially around text input and taking full advantage of its portability? Any app recommendations or setting tweaks to improve efficiency?

Thank you for your insights. Looking forward to your thoughts and tips.

Expand full comment

Nah I genuinely think it can replace a Mac. As a student currently in Year 12, it has seriously helped me in every way. I own the iPad Air 5th generation with the M1 chip and I’ve completely digitalised my school life. I believe the versatility of the iPad is what makes it special. Like when i need it to be, it’s a notebook and a past paper and a textbook. And at times it’s a laptop with a keyboard and trackpad and then it can be part of a proper desktop set up to get some real work done. I just don’t think the Mac has that versatility. As someone who has seen both devices in action from school, I am literally responsible for the surge in iPad purchases over the last 6 months.

I not only think it can replace a Mac, I think it is very closer to being up there with Mac. But I do very much agree with the general population in saying that iPadOS really needs to step up if it wants to be level with the Mac. Like REALLY needs to step up. But apart from that, iPads are powerful machines.

Expand full comment